9 Event Planners Share Their Biggest Frustrations

(Nick Lawson) #1

Originally published at: http://www.eventbrite.co.uk/blog/event-planning-frustrations-ds00/

Organising events is hugely rewarding, but can also be stressful. Discover the frustrating things these 9 event planners wish they could put in Room 101.

What's your biggest event planning frustration?
(Nick Lawson) #2

What’s the one thing in your role that really frustrates you? Lack of time/last minute changes? Suppliers/stakeholders delaying? No shows? Trying to show ROI? Budgets?

How do you overcome it?

(Nigel Atfv Davies) #3

My biggest frustration has been expending huge effort and money and then suffering poor turnout. Admittedly I’m an amateur at this sort of thing but my events are all fundraisers and from that perspective they are successful as we’ve raised tens of thousands of pounds in our time.

But when we do free events in pubs for example, no shows and low turnout hurts; it impacts what we can raise, it can kill atmosphere and I hate failing the acts by not giving them an audience.

I’m determined to get better at what I do to partially put this right, but I do also think part of the problem is a dying pub trade and a reluctance for people to spend during these times of austerity.

(Ian Wells) #4

Finding good sponsors, it would be quite useful to have a crib sheet on the best way to approach potential sponsors.

(Nick Lawson) #5

Hey @h10k not sure but this template might be of help to you:

There’s also some good points made in this thread by @LouisaMD and @NatashaGiller about finding ways to demonstrate the value that sponsors will get, and finding out what success would look like for them.

(Mill Darby) #6