Event chatbot tool, asking for feedback

(Thomas Wiradikusuma) #1

Hi everyone!

Recently I’ve been attending events for networking purpose with increasing frequency. Despite that, I feel that I’m not effective at networking. First, I’m not good at breaking the ice. Second, many times I’m stuck with people who are not a “good match”.

Also, some events want you to download their app. My phone is always almost full, so I don’t want to download a dedicated app just for a 1-2 day event.

Since I’m a software developer, I decided to take matters into my own hand and created a service (SaaS) for event organizers to create chatbots for events easily (just connect Eventbrite and a spreadsheet), with “Tinder for events” baked-in :slight_smile: I don’t want this post to become a promotion so I won’t mention the name.

I showed my app to a handful of people in the events industry (from LinkedIn), and they all like it, but don’t want to use it (UPDATED: Now some of them do, and more from SEO!) since it’s missing “something”. The problem is, everyone has different ideas. At this moment I realized that “events” is as broad as “IT”.

So, my questions:

1. What is the most painful/annoying/boring problem that you often encounter when dealing with attendees?
  2. Currently, what’s your fix/workaround?

Thank you for your time!

(Belinda Booker) #2

Hi Thomas, this is interesting. What was feedback you got from the people you showed your app to? There are a lot of networking apps on the market - what’s your USP?

(Thomas Wiradikusuma) #3

Hi Belinda, thanks for your reply!

I talked to more people, and the recurring theme is “I wish it’s WhatsApp” (still waiting for access). Functionality-wise, they have no qualms about it.

Networking is just a feature of the app. When you use the app for your event, it’s like delegating a staff (ok, maybe intern) to each attendee to answer their questions (and pass to human if the app can’t help).

The USP for the app itself: