First ever LIVE radio advert

promotion

(Kathryn Webb) #1

Hi,

I am extremely new to the event world, only been in my position 8 months. I have organised a event at the end of this month for Armed Forces Day. I have emailed radio stations and press to advertise but one radio station will not advertise themselves i have to go LIVE on air and plug my event on there feel good Friday section. I need advise on what to say and if anyone has done it before just some personal insight into what to expect would be good.

Thank you

(Belinda Booker) #2

Can you help with this @Voicey and @promoterGO ?

(Richard Heathcote) #3

Hi @Fawleyeventmanager Kathryn,

From what it sounds like, they’re wanting to invite you on as an interview subject rather than just a straight up advert? (Adverts are usually just 30s or so of course), so if they’re inviting you on live then it certainly sounds like they’re giving you a slot, which is ideal.

If I were you, I’d make a list (something you’re bound to have already of course) of all the event’s key features/details/benefits etc, speak to the station ahead of time to say this is what it’s all about, then if they’re planning on asking some questions they can plan those ahead of time so they know the right kind of questions to ask, to give you the maximum impact possible on the day of the interview.

(Or, depending on their level of proactivity, might be worth you writing your own questions to ask yourself, which can be fed to the presenter ahead of time; so at least you are fully prepared and can have pre-planned answers to your own questions.)

Radio can be incredibly powerful in rallying the troops (no pun intended) to gain maximum attendance etc, so this is an absolutely superb opportunity to exploit.