Gantt chart for event planning

(Shaena Harrison) #1

Hey y’all!

So I have been tasked with leading the production for TEDx this year in my city. I was wondering if anyone here had experience with using Gantt charts for event planning and wouldn’t mind sharing some tips/tricks?

I’ve never used one before so I am completely green.

Would love some free software as well :slight_smile:

Thanks

Shaena

(Dewi) #2

Lancaster University have some good Gantt chart examples and templates http://www.lancaster.ac.uk/current-staff/current-staff/events-toolkit/

(Melissa Saunders) #3

Wow Shaena, that’s quite a responsibility. I’ve not used Gantt chart myself but I see help is already at hand. Thanks @DewiEirig !

(Belinda Booker) #4

You might find this software useful, Shaena:

(Melissa Tranter) #5

They really are very useful, I use one in my role as I would definitely forget something without it! I’m not sure of software, I just use Excel haha!

If you find a useful one, I’d love to hear about it!

(Shaena Harrison) #6

thanks Belinda! I’ve signed up for a demo. :slight_smile:

(Shaena Harrison) #7

Thanks Mel! Do you think they take a bit of time to get the hang of? From afar they look quite daunting.

(Melissa Tranter) #8

I know what you mean, I thought the same when I took control of the one I work with. I think they are quite simple once you start working with them and you can adapt them to how you work as well. There’s a good chance mine isn’t a ‘proper’ one but it definitely takes in the principals of the Gantt system.

Good luck!

(Aman Brar) #9

Gantt charts are a good way to plan a series of sequential events (including things that depend on each other), and figure out how long it’ll take you to complete a larger task by splitting it down and finding out the kinds of things you can do in parallel.