I'm Designing Affordable Event Management Software - What Features Should I Include?

sponsorship
promotion
engagement

(Scott Ashmore) #1

Hey Guys!

A little introduction about myself first; I’m a software engineer at a large leading creative digital company. I have found myself with some free time lately so have been tinkering with some ideas of software I could build. My fiancee is a marketing manager for a medium sized festival (about 10,000 people and growing every year).

Something I noticed is that she is having a hard time finding software at an affordable price to make the even more engaging for the festival goers (Timetables, Presenters, Vendors, Discovery etc). There are options out there like Greencopper which is nicely designed (somewhat) that offer a wide range of features but are not in budget for the company. The cheaper solutions seem horrible and far from user friendly.

I think with my experience I could build something really beautifully crafted using the network of world class designers I have access to while creating some really intelligent software myself. This would be a single app that would host multiple events. The client would have access to a CMS where they can curate their event and make many customisations. The end user would download the app, enter the name of the event (could also use geolocation to open the correct event without the user having to type, provided they allow access) and have all the events information at their fingertips, presented in a really beautiful way.

As far as getting user to actually download and engage with the app, I’m thinking some sort of incentive system has to be in place. (many check ins can unlock VIP access and things of this nature). If we can get the users engaged then that also means more useful data can be collected about their behaviour etc.