Mentor wanted/mentorship offered - post here!

(Belinda Booker) #1

We’ve had a number of threads about mentors, so here’s a section you can post, whether you’re looking for a mentor or you’re offering your services (free of charge only). Please include where you’re based in your post.

P.S. Did you know, there’s a special place in heaven for those who mentor?! Could you help someone by sharing your knowledge? :innocent:

(Leon Wilding) #2

A quick update on my fundraising event: As I am new to the vents planning and organising industry, the prospect of the second venue was a little overwhelming after speaking to the venue owner and discussing things in more detail. He gave me very positive feedback and fully supported the idea (even offered a VIP booth with 2 bottles of Grey Goose vodka and mixers for up to 5 people) but after speaking more and taking into consideration the clubs reputation and bookings so far, he was unable to provide a Friday, Saturday or Monday as they are the busiest nights and have events booked up for quite some time. I have resorted to the original plan of holding the event on one night in one venue and devoted time and resources to help gain the event as much exposure as possible. I have a meeting with the owner some time over the next few days to discuss things in more detail and come up with a suitable date for the event.

I am very much looking forward to the event and believe my dedication and passion will make it a huge success! However, in regards to my business module as a whole, I am currently working through an online course via the Princes’ trust and I have a dedicated mentor. The scope of the events planning and organising industry is much much bigger than I first imagined. So many things I need help with that I am struggling with (even by conducting research).