Pricing Structure/Strategy

(Leon Wilding) #1

As we know, there are many different ways to charge as an event planner. Flat fee, hourly rate, vendor services mark ups, commission - How do YOU charge? What works best for you? Also (and this one won’t be answered by everyone) but what is you event planning step-by-step strategy?

As I am new to the events planning industry, I have quickly come to realise just how diverse and vast the industry is. It’s not as simple as it may first seem so for those experienced, I take my hat off to you. Although I have the passion and determination to succeed, I am struggling. So much information to absorb has distracted me from determining “THE BASIC” structure. The ‘who, what, where, when and why’.

When I research into other businesses in the industry, I often see no information on their websites in regards to pricing. Why is that? I appreciate it is determined by the clients wants and needs but, what is the process behind the scenes? I don’t have a HUGE, well established business that offer “in house” products such as decor or catering staff so I will have to source third party vendors. How do you ensure that the costs are covered? By taking deposits or down payments from clients? If so, how do you come up with a figure to the client beforehand?

I appreciate this is a big post and only some may be able to answer part of this but honestly, any help for an enthusiastic and determined chap like myself would be greatly appreciated

Thank you all.

(Allison Pinney Collis) #2

You may find one of the easiest routes it sot take the role of a consultant and project manager for a client. You manage the suppliers/procurement but the client pays the bills. I operated like this for 15 years or so

(Leon Wilding) #3

Thank you Allison. How did you find your time in this role and was it profitable for you? With you operating in that fashion for around 15 years, I’m guessing it was beneficial for you.

How did you charge for that service?