What aspect of your events do you find most challenging?

networking
socialmedia
exhibitions
events

(Sally Gurney) #1

Hi there,

Those of you who run events,I’m looking for your help please…

Question for you: If you had loads of money to spend on your event (i.e. in an ideal world!) what aspect of your event would you love support/advice on? What are the problem areas in running your event? Is it training event staff? Finding event staff? Retaining repeat customers to your event? The registration process? Spreading the word through social media? I’d be interested to learn whatever it is…

I’m a qualified social media professional with a 15 year career in large international events and I’m looking to merge the two to find my business niche. I’m in the process of remoulding my business and looking at what niche in the events industry I want to focus on - conferences, exhibitions, networking events, awards, weddings, etc. My background is in large (100k+) international conferences and exhibitions in the tech industry with specific experience in registration and the customer experience (having also worked across many different types of smaller events ). I’m really keen to work with and support SMEs who need direct support in some capacity.

Do you have any other useful questions that may help me find my direction?

I hope this is ok to post… Thanks for your time, and any responses.

(Nick Lawson) #2

Hi Sally

Very interesting questions - and a difficult one!

I think the things people struggle with will vary massively from person to person dependent on everyone’s individual skills sets. For me, if i had a massive budget, I’d invest in an agency to help with event design and experience, in particular to really nail the little things at an event that really go the extra mile into delighting attendees and making them feel thought about.